Modestas Barkauskas, conductor

Modestas Barkauskas is one of the most accomplished and well-known young Lithuanian conductors. In 2006–2013 he studied orchestral conducting with professor Juozas Domarkas. Modestas Barkauskas is artistic director and conductor of the Vilnius St. Christopher Chamber Orchestra and Vilnius B. Dvarionas Youth Symphony Orchestra. He lectures at the Conducting and Choir conducting Departments at the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre.

In recent years, Barkauskas has presented many critically acclaimed programs with the Lithuanian National Symphony, Lithuanian Chamber and Latvian National Symphony Orchestras, Hamburger Camerata, Tallinn Chamber Orchestra and Baltic Academies Orchestra, to name a few.

Barkauskas’ repertoire ranges from music of the 17th century to contemporary works and encompasses all genres: symphonic, operatic as well as chamber music. Barkauskas has dedicated his energy and passion to audiences of all age groups and has maintained a leading role in the development of a Family and Education Series conducting regularly concerts with the Lithuanian National Symphony orchestra, the Lithuanian opera, as well as performances of ballet classics and pop concert series. At the Lithuanian opera and ballet theatre he has premiered ballets Carmen (based on Bizet’s opera), Tristan und Isolde (with music by Wagner), ”Bolero +” based on music by Ravel, Mozart, Satie, Vivaldi, and Max Richter, Der Prozess composed by Mindaugas Urbaitis, and has conducted classic ballets The Nutcracker, Romeo and Juliet, Cinderella, and others.

In 2016 Modestas Barkauskas was acknowledged as young artist of the year and awarded with a Golden Stage Cross. In November the same year, Barkauskas became a laureate in a category of conductors at the St Petersburg M. Glinka Cappella festival competition. In November 2017, Modestas Barkauskas won the 3rd Prize and bronze baton in the prestigious X Grzegorz Fitelberg International Competition for Conductors in Katowice, Poland.



facebook twitter email print


Algirdas Martinaitis

Seasons and Serenades

(Works for String Orchestra)

Rūta Lipinaitytė, violin

Asta Krikščiūnaitė, soprano

St. Christopher Chamber Orchestra

Modestas Barkauskas, conductor

ODE 1398-2

Released 01/2022

more info & buy

back to top
Extended search
We noticed you are searching for more than one word. Would you like to

search for each word separately,
eg.: Paul, Hindersmith, Symphonie

search for a term,
eg.: "Paul Hindersmith"

redefine your search.
Use quotations for a term and single words, eg.: "Paul Hindersmith" Symphonie