Valentin Silvestrov
To Thee We Sing
Sacred Choral Works

Latvian Radio Choir
Sigvards Klava, conductor
Ieva Ezeriete, soprano
Agate Burkina, soprano
Dace Srautmane, alto
Karlis Rutentals, tenor
Rudolfs Bertins, tenor



October 2015

Catalogue No.:
ODE 1266-5


Track listing

CD/SACD 60:01
Valentin Silvestrov (1937-)
Alleluia (2006) 8:29
1 I Evening 2:18
2 II Morning 2:41
3 III Night 3:30
From Liturgical Chants
4 Cherubic Song 2:34
5 Alleluia 2:47
6 O Holy God 3:21
7 Ave Maria 3:20
8 I The Lord's Prayer 4:51
9 II Testament 8:58
Two Sacred Chants
10 Mercy of Peace 5:03
11 To Thee We Sing 3:14
Two Sacred Songs
12 I Alleluia 3:18
13 II Ave Maria 4:39
Two Christmas Lullabies
14 Sleep, Jesus 3:50
15 Quiet Night 5:27

Also recommended...


Gramophone 'Editor's Choice'

Press review

 "It has the effect of a healing balm and I cannot recommend it too highly for those who require restoration from life’s vicissitudes".
Gramophone Editor's Choise, October 2015


Complete description

Ukrainian composer Valentin Silvestrov (b. 1937) is an important contemporary voice in vocal music. In this new release Silvestrov's hauntingly beautiful vocal works are performed by the Latvian Radio Choir under their director Sigvards Kļava.

During his artistic career Silvestrov has explored a number of musical styles and techniques, such as avant-guard, post-modernism, neo-classicism, dodecaphony, aleatoric writing and pointillism. The fall of the Soviet Union, however, allowed Silvestrov to eventually compose spiritual works, inspired and influenced by his love of the Russian Orthodox Church music which

Silvestrov imbues with his own unique sound and bursts of surprising harmonic moves. Silvestrov's compositions are invested with the composer's own unique personality, musical sensibility and sense of beauty.

Latvian Radio Choir's previous releases on Ondine have been highly successful. For instance, the recording of Rachmaninov's All-Night Vigil (ODE 1206-5) was chosen as the Record of the Month, Editor's Choice and received a nomination in the Gramophone Awards in 2013.