Frédéric Chopin

Complete Mazurkas, Vol. 2

Peter Jablonski, piano



Sleeve notes in English


October 2023

Catalogue No.:
ODE 1431-2


Track listing

CD 73:49
Frédéric Chopin (1810-1849)
Six Mazurkas, Op. posth. 10:30
1 Mazurka in B-flat major, B. 16 (1826) 1:38
2 Mazurka in G major, B. 16 (1826) 1:48
3 Mazurka in D major, B. 31 (1829) 1:20
4 Mazurka in B-flat major, B. 73, ‘Wołowska’ (1832) 1:18
5 Mazurka in C major, B. 82 (1833) 2:59
6 Mazurka in A-flat major, B. 85 (1834) 1:32
Two Mazurkas, Op. posth. 7:02
7 Mazurka No. 51 in A minor, B. 140, ‘À Émile Gaillard' 3:24
8 Mazurka No. 50 in A minor, B. 134, ‘Notre temps’ 3:38
Three Mazurkas, Op. 50 10:36
9 Mazurka No. 30 in G major 2:22
10 Mazurka No. 31 in A-flat major 3:14
11 Mazurka No. 32 in C-sharp minor 5:00
Three Mazurkas, Op. 56 12:29
12 Mazurka No. 33 in B major 4:56
13 Mazurka No. 34 in C major 1:40
14 Mazurka No. 35 in C minor 5:53
Three Mazurkas, Op. 59 9:57
15 Mazurka No. 36 in A minor 3:57
16 Mazurka No. 37 in A-flat major 2:39
17 Mazurka No. 38 in F-sharp minor 3:21
Three Mazurkas, Op. 63 6:28
18 Mazurka No. 39 in B major 2:12
19 Mazurka No. 40 in F minor 1:48
20 Mazurka No. 41 in C-sharp minor 2:28
Four Mazurkas, Op. 67 7:43
21 Mazurka No. 42 in G major 1:17
22 Mazurka No. 43 in G minor 1:47
23 Mazurka No. 44 in C major 1:38
24 Mazurka No. 45 in A minor 3:01
Four Mazurkas, Op. 68 8:36
25 Mazurka No. 46 in C major 1:42
26 Mazurka No. 47 in A minor 2:55
27 Mazurka No. 48 in F major 1:47
28 Mazurka No. 49 in F minor 2:12

Also recommended...

Complete description

Internationally acclaimed Swedish pianist Peter Jablonski is known as a fervent champion of Polish music. After his first album with Chopin’s Mazurkas, released in October 2022, with this second volume Jablonski continues the recording of some of his dearest works for the piano. For Chopin, the Mazurkas became a deeply personal, intimate statement of his feelings as an émigré Polish composer living in Paris. From some of his very first compositions to his last, it is the only form that Chopin composed regularly throughout his life. Similarly, Chopin’s Mazurkas have followed Peter Jablonski throughout his entire career as a pianist in nearly every solo recital.


This second and final volume of Chopin’s Mazurkas by Peter Jablonski includes Mazurkas Nos. 30-51 alongside six posthumous mazurkas. This album also includes Chopin’s final composition that was written just few weeks before his death, the Mazurka No. 49 in F minor (1849).


Peter Jablonski’s most recent album of Piano Concertos by Grazyna Bacewicz has received rave reviews, including Gramophone magazine’s Editor’s Choice, and the previous Bacewicz solo album was nominated for BBC Music Magazine’s best instrumental album of the year.


Peter Jablonski is an internationally acclaimed Swedish pianist. Discovered by Claudio Abbado and Vladimir Ashkenazy and signed by Decca at the age of 17, he went on to perform, collaborate, and record with over 150 of the world’s leading orchestras and conductors, including the Philharmonia, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Leipzig Gewandhaus, Mariinsky, La Scala Philharmonic, Tonhalle Zurich, Orchestre Nationale de France, NHK Tokyo, DSO Berlin, Warsaw Philharmonic, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Philadelphia and Cleveland Orchestras, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Valery Gergiev, Kurt Sanderling, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Riccardo Chailly, Daniele Gatti, and Myung- Whun Chung, to name a few. He has performed and recorded the complete piano concertos by Beethoven, Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninoff, and Bartók, and all piano sonatas by Prokofiev. Hailed as an ‘unconventional virtuoso’ (Present Arts), during his three-decade-long career he developed a diverse repertoire and worked with composers Witold Lutosławski and Arvo Pärt. Jablonski’s extensive discography includes several award-winning recordings.